My childhood series (1)

It’s been very many years now, but I still remember how it played out. Somewhere in a rowdy delivery ward, I could hear the doctor’s husky voice asking my mum to push. It was what actually jolted me into action. I said to myself, “YEAH! Let’s do it” just as I came out headlong. On arrival, I threw an appreciative glance at my mom as if to say, “thank you for carrying me this whole time”. She still looked awestruck but with some sense of fulfillment.

Now, the moment everyone was waiting for had come. Even though, I knew, by instinct, what was expected of me, I was in no mood to act like a weakling. “I am here on a mission. Letting out a cry at this point would only be taken to mean cowardice on my part”, I thought to myself. I was still busy acting like Dolph Lundgren when I felt a squeeze on my bum which was followed immediately by a gentle smack. It was the doctor urging me to let out what would be my first of many tears. I was overwhelmed by this feeling I had never felt before- I now understand they call it pain. There and then, I cried all the way.

About sagetosyn

Affable, easy going chap with a flair for creative writing.
This entry was posted in Memoirs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment